Executive Members

ANZSSA’s Executive group is a committed and passionate group of professionals working in post-secondary education student services’ teams. The Executive are democratically elected positions by the Association’s membership. They are committed to driving a professional, inclusive and fair Association and as such members of the Executive have engaged in professional training in Association governance, disability awareness, Indigenous history and culture, cultural competency training, and LBGTIQ awareness training, with some members being identified ALLY members at their respective organisations, sexual violence awareness and intervention, and health and safety.  The ANZSSA Executive members for 2019/21, as elected at the 2019 AGM are as follows:

Dr Christie White, President

Christie White is the Director of Student Success and Wellbeing at the University of Southern Queensland (USQ). USQ is a regionally-headquartered university with campuses in Toowoomba, Springfield, and Ipswich in Queensland, Australia. USQ provides higher education to students globally, with 75% of its students studying online. A psychologist by trade, Christie’s role is focused on achieving strategic outcomes for the University, enabling students from diverse backgrounds to not only access and participate in higher education but succeed as well. In addition, she oversees a range of support services including Careers and Employability, Health and Wellness, and Social Justice, Equity and Inclusion. She has a Doctor of Education designing a theoretical framework to assist student services in higher education to support students from low socioeconomic backgrounds. 

Christie has previously held the roles of Vice-President (Australia) and Treasurer for ANZSSA, assuming the role of President in 2017. As a member of ANZSSA, she is deeply committed to sharing good practice and working across the sector to create collaborative learning opportunities for staff.

Email Christie: president@anzssa.com

Stephanie Taylor, Vice-President (Australia)

Stephanie Taylor is the Executive Director of the Student Experience portfolio at the University of Tasmania with strategic responsibility for the provision of student experience and a wide range of services across the institution. Working in partnership with the Academic Colleges, University Divisions and students, the portfolio spans the delivery of a broad range of services and initiatives which underpin the student experience including: wellbeing and safety, accessibility, retention and success, first and second tier student services, information and digital communications, Indigenous student support, student orientation and first year transition, engagement and events, sport and recreation and student living.  Originally from Western Australia, Stephanie has held executive and management roles in not for profits, education and philanthropic organisations in Perth and Melbourne before settling in Hobart 13 years ago.

Email Stephanie: Stephanie.Taylor@utas.edu.au

Amy Heise, Vice-President (New Zealand)

Email Amy:  a.e.heise@massey.ac.nz



Karen Davis, Director (Professional Development)

Karen Davis is Associate Director, Student Academic Services (Retention, Achievement and Equity) at Victoria University of Wellington. In this role, she leads a team of staff who deliver academic and equity focused student services, including learning, wellbeing, disability, rainbow and careers and employment services. Karen held the role of ANZSSA Vice President (New Zealand) before being elected to this position.  She appreciates the collegial connections formed through ANZSSA and the opportunity this provides to share good practice that benefits our diverse student communities.

Email Karen: karen.davis@vuw.ac.nz

Tony Reed, Director (Engagement)

Tony is the Director, Student Services & Engagement at the University of the Sunshine Coast, a role he is performed since February 2016.  Prior to that Tony worked at 3 metropolitan universities in Sydney and Melbourne in similar  roles.  Tony is an inaugural board member and current board directors for the Heads of Student Administration (HoSA) Inc.


Email Tony: treed@usc.edu.au

Caroline Spotswood, Director (Indigenous)

ya pulingina

Caroline Spotswood is a pakana woman from lutruwita (Tasmania) and comes from a large extended Aboriginal family from Cape Barren Island in the Bass Strait.  

Caroline joined the University of Tasmania in January 2016 as the Head of Service, Riawunna Centre for Aboriginal Education bringing a diverse wealth of experience to the University.   Riawunna sits in the Student Experience portfolio and she and her team deliver on the strategic priorities across a broad range of programs to support access, retention and completion for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students enrolled at the University of Tasmania.   Caroline and the Riawunna team collaborate with other teams in the Student Experience portfolio, PVC Office for Aboriginal Leadership, Academic Colleges and many more to support Aboriginal student success.  Caroline and the team have developed strong external relationships and partnerships with the Aboriginal community, Organisations and Schools through Riawunna’s Engagement Strategy.  Caroline is committed to her family, Community and her role at the University of Tasmania, wanting the best educational outcomes for her people.

Email Caroline: caroline.spotswood@utas.edu.au